Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt

Keturah and Lord Death

Have you ever felt confused about why a certain book is so popular? That you’re the only person who isn’t going wild over some novel that you think is just OK at best? The last time I felt that way was with A Great and Terrible Beauty, which was a big letdown for me after all the hype. (Kathleen, thanks for agreeing with me on this one!) Sadly, I am right now experiencing a similar disappointment with Keturah and Lord Death. So many people have told me to read this one, and I’ve just finally gotten around to it. Only one more chapter to go, and unless it totally amazes me, I think I’m going to just have to scratch my head and wonder. What popular books have you not liked as much as you thought you would?

2 Comments

  1. hdydy said,

    May 19, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    i thought i would love the golden compass, but it turned out to be one of the worst books i have ever read.

  2. admin said,

    May 19, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Really? I can see why you thought that with The Golden Compass. So many people are always talking about how that’s the most amazing book ever. And then there was the movie, which caused even more hype. I wonder if you read the whole thing. That would be a tough novel to finish if you didn’t like it! (Actually, I’ve often thought that was more of a high school/adult book anyway, but that’s just me…)


Leave a Reply

